If You Like

If you like adventurous, action-packed stories with smells you can almost smell and characters you feel right beside, you might like:

 Swipe by Evan Angler: In the future American Union, where you must be Marked with nano-ink to get a job, be a citizen, or buy things, Logan and Erin, two young people who are beginning to question if the government’s way of doing things is right,discover that the truth may be complicated… and frightening.

The Hobbit by J.R. R. Tolkien: Bilbo Baggins is a respectable, ordinary hobbit who stays faraway from adventure, until the wizard Gandalf chooses him to help a group of dwarves overcome the dragon Smaug and take back his mountain.

The Girl Who Could See by Kara Swanson: Fern Johnson can see into a world nobody else can, and has been labeled crazy for it, until it appears that danger from that world may destroy her own.

On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness by Andrew Peterson: The three Igiby siblings hold the legend and the jewels of King Wingfeather from the Shining Isle of Anniera, and the wicked Fangs of Dang pursue them relentlessly. They and their dog Nugget will need everything they have to survive the chase of the wicked Fangs.

The Green Ember by S. D. Smith: Rabbits with swords.

The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart: Four children embark on a special undercover mission at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened.

Fawkes by Nadine Brandes: Everyone blames everyone else for the Stone Plague, but Thomas realizes that it is spreading and he must choose between proving himself to his father and betraying the girl he loves.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer: Cinder must uncover her past to protect her world in this exciting dystopian fairy-tale retelling.

Eragon by Christopher Paolini: An Alagaesian boy named Eragon discovers a dragon egg and becomes a Dragon Rider, putting him in the middle of a war between an evil king and those who resist him.

100 Cupboards by N. D. Wilson: After his parents disappear, Henry York moves to Kansas where he and his cousin discover hidden doors that lead to other worlds.

Let’s chat!

Have you read anything on this list? What would you add? Do you like adventure stories?

Advertisements

10 thoughts on “If You Like

  1. Thank you SO MUCH for this list!!!! I love adventure-packed books, stories that will set my heart racing!!! “Fawkes” and “The Hobbit” have been some of my favorite books of all time! Thank you so much for taking the time to create this wonderful blog and this list Grace!!!
    -Your most intrigued subscriber

    Liked by 1 person

  2. *gasps* okay, I am so happy you read “eragon” because it is one of my favorite series of all time. how did you like it? apparently the last book (or collection of short stories) from chrisopher paolini was just released after like, 10 years. yay.
    oh, and the green ember sounds wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I liked Eragon too! I generally prefer character-driven stories, but the story of Eragon and the world was amazing. (confession: I had to keep a list of characters, though XD)
      My library just got the new book and I’m really excited to read it! (The Fork, the Witch, and the Worm: Tales from Alagaësia (Volume 1: Eragon)) Christopher Paolini also said there’s a different book, a Book Five, coming out that will tie up lots of the loose ends in Book Four, but it’s not out yet and there’s no release date currently set. I’m excited to see that one, too!
      And on a sort-of related side note, I love the covers for the Eragon series. 🙂
      Yeah, Green Ember is a lot of fun! It’s written for kids, so it’s a little more “cute” than “thrilling,” but even so, I liked it a lot. 🙂
      Thanks for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

      • okay, I hands down agree with you. I read it in fifth grade when I easily became bored, and the beginning was sooo drawling (at least at the time). but I’m glad I decided to read it! my cousin told me it was better than harry potter and percy jackson combined, which is a strange way to level it, but Im happy I listened to him!
        wowwww, you’re so lucky! my library doesn’t exactly get new shippings of books, so I’m jealous. you HAVE to let me know how it is. I also never knew about the fifth book. those ten years we’ve all been waiting better have been worth it 🙂
        yeah! I should”ve included that in my latest post.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Eragon is sort of like Harry Potter and Percy Jackson. When I recommend it, I say it’s like Harry Potter and The Hobbit with extra dragons.
        I’m excited to read Tales of Algaesia! I’ll definitely let you know what I think once it finally gets through all the other holds to me…
        The author hasn’t given a release date or anything for Book 5, just said he’s working on it, so it might be a good more 10 years or so before we see that in print 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. This style blogpost is such a good idea!! I haven’t read so many of these, and I’m super excited to check them out!! The Mysterious Benedicts Society is one I’ve been meaning to read for foreVER!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I enjoy giving book recommendations based on what people like, so these posts are a lot of fun for me to write. The Mysterious Benedict Society is such a fun book!
      Thank you for your comment! 🙂
      -Grace

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s